top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Cye

Fulfilling The Promise?

PHDS teammates in action trying out the combo actions


After the creation of [Seedling], I was more passionate than ever to try and find a person/ people to plant a seed of hope for the artisans within their hearts. I was so thankful and honored that our 教练(佩静老师)gave us (Anna, Shanyce and I as well as a few other MOA mates) the chance to share and teach the students of PHDS (Pin Hwa Dance Society) *in my case, my teammates of the society what we've learned, and wish to share of our journey throughout MOA.

It wasn't the easiest process:


Warming Up & Sharing Process


Fortunately, they already knew a slight bit about Moving With Artisans as PHDS is doing a similar project- community project (社区活动), so they had a brief idea. I remembered our first class, it was one to remember. Me and Anna were the "laoshi" that day; was I ready as ever to teach my short 3 part combo? Absolutely, not :) But I did it in the end. The following few weeks I did the same but taught a different combo alongside Anna. It felt really special to get the chance to share something that is really close to our hearts and have worked on for sometime now.

 

Reflections from teammates 🌟


Towards the end of the first class, I remembered Anna asked our teammates to give us some honest reflections and opinions. We got some wonderful responses from them :) (not meant to be sarcastic, honestly it was super helpful and a feeling of over the moon excited to get their reflectionssss)


奇怪 (weird) ,特别 (special),不一样 (different)

These are the conclusion of the feedback. It really made me realize how hard it is (and will be) for them as they have little to no idea on how, why & what are the reasons these steps came to be. It dawned on me, once again, how fortunate & blessed I am to be part of the rays of sunrise, MOA.

 

Challenges challenges here they come 🏹


One of my most fondest memory so far, is the time I most certainly breakdown after a class. It wasn't the biggest deal- I just felt that I didn't lead my teammates very well when I'm trying to coach alone (Anna was absent that day) and I wasn't confident, I forgot steps of the combo....I was neither satisfied nor proud or happy about my performance that day.


I was in total darkness on what to do next, what's my next step. So I reached out to every member of our class and asked for their feedback of the class that day. And I was so touched and moved of the fact that they were so so encouraging, they also gave ideas, opinions and suggestions on what I can improve which set me back up on the right track.


It was such a memorable day in PHDS that makes me restore a little bit of hope in myself once again.


 

[This is an on-going post]

13 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page