top of page
  • Writer's pictureValentina Song

[RESIDENCY] Week 1 🗝 The open door

Updated: Jul 13, 2021

/A residency journal(ny) from V /

🎵~Love is an open dooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrr~~

5th July 21

Welcome Dinner 🍽

Today is kind of the day we all really sit down and talk to each other for the very first time, with our dinner, of course. (I had my mom's homemade wingsss 😋)I was appointed randomly as the first person to be introducing myself, it was kinda scary for me since I did not really communicate with the others since the pandemic started as I always lock myself in the house. Since then, my personality has evolved so much that this extroverted kid has become more and more introverted than any MBTI test that I ever did:'). But fortunately, all of the artists here are really friendly and open-minded and it makes me feel much more comfortable talking to them casually. The following are some of my lil observations/ very not important comments from my newly-met peepo:-

  1. Winnie 🐻in yellow - Halo nice to meet you! Love your personalities and cuteness hh.Hope we can talk more :]

  2. Sarah 😎 - Hopefully we could watch Broadway in the future tgt! Even though you are much more younger than me but I always feel like your maturity is much more higher than me haha. u cute. hopefully, we can talk more too!

  3. Anna 🤸‍♀️- I rmb you from the yoga class hehe, and also to be mentioned you are so brave to speak the language that you think you are not familiar in, it's so great that the fastest way to learn a language is not to be afraid to speak it out loud, and you did it! feel so proud of you <3 ps. you have the cuteness laugh ever hahahahah, see you at 7.30 am 😴

  4. ,Shanyce📢(I put the comma u like)- yo my potential future best friend, I admire you for being able to speak confidently without any judgment from the floor, and please do not stop doing anything you are doing right now, cus you are all great at it. Do tell me when you want to cut your hair hahahaah. love you <3

  5. Chiying 👸 - pretty. fabulous. cute. ( a very tmi: my best fren's 表姐 was shocked to find out that you know me )

  6. Dixon🦿 - I can feel that you are a very cheerful and optimistic person! and you communicate with all the peepo so well, I will have a lottttttt to learn from you!

  7. Paik Yin 🍺- very chaotic, I like. Love your spirit <3 Too bad u left early so we couldn't know more in-depth about u, can't wait for the classes!

  8. Doris ✍- Every time when you open your mouth I feel like I should've bought a notebook for it haha, yes I feel like I learn a lot every time that you are speaking, can't wait for the class you are hosting for!

  9. and ofc (Jin Laoshi, YZ, GG, ANG)- we see each other on every Friday so, 加油,辛苦了 ,Hopefully we can do well tgt! <3 <3 <3

  10. Beehui- I haven't got the chance to meet you yet! Hopefully, you will get well very soon so we could play tgt :]

I never really have a sense of age gap since I treat everyone like a friend :] No matter how old or how young are you, Let's talk and create together <3


6th July 21

CHIMERIC DANCE 1

Everything from this class is so new to me and I am still trying to adapt myself to it since I am very used to tense and instructional classes, and this class is very chill and free~


Notes& Homework from class:

  1. What does technology mean to you? My companion, entertainment working tool, help me connect with others

  2. Can I live without computer/phone for a year? no. since i study digital art, everyday i have to at least sit in from of my computer for at least 14 hrs a day,i will be anxious if i cant see my laptop, for phone yes

  3. Why is everything so 'smart'? humans create all these "smart stuffs" to let the humans to have a more convenient lifestyle, and all have to do is to give commands and it serves as a tool for you. However, being convenience kinda makes all of us foor overly rely on technology and the roles have been changed

心 有什么意思

  1. (= 心脏) heart

  2. (= 思想) mind ⇒ 用心 (yòngxīn) attentively ⇒ 谈心 (tánxīn) heart-to-heart talk

  3. (= 中心) , centre (英) center (美) ⇒ 圆心 (yuánxīn) centre (英) center (美) of a circle

心灵 spirit

灵魂 soul


1. Body + cameraphone – How to dance with the WEIGHT of camera phone. How do the weight move your body?

  • have the urge to unlock it and check the time and noti

  • afraid to drop

  • it's actually quite heavy, din realise it until we did on tis ex.

2. Body + cameraphone in relation to Zoom– Setting up your “stage”. How your computer/tablet/phone frame and present your space

  • hold my phone too much that actually wasn't aware of how i hold it

  • the relationship with the room changes? no. bc i spent most of my time here performing and having classes

  • what are u focusing on: existence of the phone, how it connects to my body

3. Body + Cameraphone Turn on – Doing a duet with your phone.

  • do u move differently: yes, i need to aware of the contents that are framing on

  • what is your focus: my hand as a stabiliser

4. Body and your physical space – Back to the origins your body and your physical space.

a. Where is the light in your room?

b. How are you framing your room [fingers become camera eye]

  • do u always need to look thru this frame? or are you ok: yes. ok. I feel like the frame is limiting my view

  • intention in lab: learn from others, meditation as cool down, aware of my body, realise i really care about whats inside the phone




Loving the vibes Paik Yin laoshi gives, feel like this is my cool down class after my schedule.

Hopefully can learn more from her! Also, Im so used to typing down notes instead of writing it, I will start it from the next class!



INTERNAL WORKSHOP (TAU SHA PIAR)

It is pitiful for not able to share my movements that I've worked for months before:( (yes I burnt my hand and leg bc I spilled spaghetti on me, don laugh-)


However, from YZ and ANG's sharing, I am surprised how different others' persp are since we are super familiar already and this is the first time I had heard from the feedbacks on the movements. It doesn't feel like exchanging opinions only, it also does energy exchanging.

8th July 21

CHIMERIC DANCE 2

Notes& Homework from class:



INTERNAL WORKSHOP (RATTAN WEAVER)

Anna lao shi: potato leaves 🌿, 陪伴往生者的职业

Sarah lao shi: carpenter


I've only experienced Anna laoshi's movements for abit since I got to leave early.

However, I already learnt how Anna laoshi's view on his experiences with the rattan weaver, and I'm intrigued by her mind.

/Sorry Sarah laoshi ><

9th July 21

PITCH PRESENTATION

Pitching your ideas to the floor will always help you to think of your ideas out the box you are closed in, therefore, I'm nervous at the same time looking forward on what feedbacks I could get and also listen to the idea proposed by all these cute artists here.


Here is my concept:

  1. 心 - 谈心 (heart-to-heart talk)

  2. What does technology mean to you? My companion, entertainment, working tool, help me connect with the others

  3. Combo 3 element- Father and son

CONVERSATION

between me and technology

between the father and son

Locations: Kitchen, Playground, mirror in my room


10th July 21

TYPIST X HUA GU DENG WORKSHOP

Since I did not manage to attend the internal workshop for it before, It's my first time to learn about CY's creative process.


Notes from class:



SHARING SESSION: RATTAN WEAVER& COFFEE MASTER

First and foremost, shoutout to ANG for handling it so well since it was a very last-minute change 🥺 *pat-pat*

And also Sarah and Shanyce that were very well-prepared and handling the talk so well!

- From my questions: Limited resources, no forcing, 走一步看一步


 

/Congratulations for making it this far, you will live in my heart as a hero,

here is a cookie for you 🍪/

50 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page