top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Cye

D̶o̶r̶a̶ Sarah the Explorer 🔎[2nd week-Online Residency]

Hello everyone! I am Sarah (允恩) , and this is my journal of My Second week (10/7~16/7) of my very first online residency-The Journey! Woo~🎉


🎵ᴅᴏʀᴀ ᴅᴏʀᴀ ᴅᴏʀᴀ ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴘʟᴏʀᴇʀʀʀᴀʜʜ!🎵 [Inspo of song inserting by Valentina ;)]







Dora the explorer gif for nostalgia and energy purposes


10/7/2021

Agenda: 1pm- 230pm, MOA dance experience workshop 1 (Typist)

3-5pm, Artisans Sharing (Rattan & Kopitiam)

  • MOA dance experience workshop 1 (Typist)

-It was MOA's first public workshop, and I was quite nervous, (it's not even myself who was teaching the public, it was Chi Ying , but still nervoussss. It was so amazing how she was so composed and calm although she might be trembling in fear inside 👏applause )

-Learnt so much about Chi Ying's thought process while exploring the steps for the Typist, very well-thought!

-It was impressive to see how she was able to take the elements from her exploration and insert it into her dance, which itself is full of wonderful stories


  • Artisans Sharing (Rattan & Kopitiam)

-My first public event as an "interviewer" , it's surely a core memory 💛 I was excited, nervous, sweating and smiling, all of the emotions mixed together to create a long-lasting memory.

-Shanyce & Zhen Wei were just exceptional and they made me less nervous about the conversation :)

-The guest speakers were also very cooperative! They were awesome~

-Overall, it was an eye-widening experience, so grateful I got the chance to do so.


Miss Shin Yi answering questions from the audience


 

11/7/2021

Agenda: 2pm-4pm, Guest Speaker: Katja Graessli *Deaf Community


-It is so saddening to find out that the deaf community feels disconnected from the hearing community, I just think it's so unfair that for eg. the people in the deaf community might not get the chance to learn dance or etc. just because they aren't able to hear.

-This workshop is a reminder that deaf people (or other disabled people) are too, capable of doing incredible things.


Guest speaker- Miss Katja Graessli answering questions from the audience


 

13/7/2021

Agenda: 2pm-6pm, Creative Writing with Doris Lee

4pm - 6pm,1st Sharing & Final Storyboard

  • Creative Writing with Doris Lee

-I felt a tinsy bit sense of pity [maybe quite a lot :( ] that I couldn't make it for the full experience for the Creative writing session, but fortunately I hopped at the last 20mins to the session where they're discussing their feelings and asking questions, which itself is really meaningful.

-I understood that sometimes, it is good to have a balance between your feelings (感受)and imaginations(想象)1️⃣

-And at times, we don't look back at our past writing because there is a chance that it might be associated with pain, it's something we don't want to face 2️⃣

-The session was moving, it truly was something special

  • 1st Sharing & Final Storyboard

-I had the chance to present my storyboard of my dance film (which I drew pretty hurriedly) and I honestly thought I wasn't clear about the plan of my storyboard.

-But, there is one moment specifically which actually touched my heart: I remembered when I expressed my confusion to Paik Yin 老师 and the others, when she told me to calm down, close my eyes and put my hand on my heart (chest) and listen to what it says.

-And I felt like it helped quite a bit 😊, my heart told me that I actually was clear about the concept although my brain told me otherwise ♡


 

15/7/2021

Agenda: 4pm- 6pm, Poetic INTERPRETATION Paik Yin

TOᑌGᕼ ᗷᑌT ᗯOᖇTᕼY

-This was an enjoyable journey through imagination and reality

-I've always liked quotes and poems. This class by Paik Yin lao shi is mostly about (from what I understand) poetic interpretation to know more about oneself.

-It is indeed a really interesting

A peek of the notes, scribbles etc. from the class


"𝙳𝚘𝚛𝚊 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚎𝚡𝚙𝚕𝚘𝚛𝚎𝚛 𝚜𝚝𝚘𝚙, 𝚕𝚘𝚘𝚔 & 𝚜𝚠𝚒𝚗𝚐,

𝚠𝚒𝚝𝚑𝚘𝚞𝚝 𝚊 𝚍𝚘𝚞𝚋𝚝, 𝚒𝚝 𝚒𝚜 𝚝𝚒𝚛𝚒𝚗𝚐.

𝙳𝚊𝚗𝚌𝚒𝚗𝚐, 𝚜𝚖𝚒𝚕𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚝𝚠𝚒𝚛𝚕𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚒𝚝 𝚝𝚑𝚛𝚘𝚞𝚐𝚑

𝚂𝚊𝚛𝚊𝚑'𝚜 𝚙𝚛𝚘𝚞𝚍 𝚘𝚏 𝚘𝚗𝚎𝚜𝚎𝚕𝚏,

𝚒𝚝'𝚜 𝚑𝚊𝚛𝚍, 𝚋𝚞𝚝 𝚒𝚝'𝚜 𝚠𝚘𝚛𝚝𝚑𝚢, 𝚒𝚝'𝚜 𝚝𝚛𝚞𝚎"

(Swinging across a river we go- Sarah)


 

16/7/2021

Agenda: 8pm-10pm, 2nd Sharing & 1st Draft of Edit

-It was a work-in-progress stage, and I was trying out the camera, choreography, transition and etc.

-The feedback from my teammates, 佩静老师 & Paik Yin 老师 were incredibly helpful for the development and improvement of my dance film 🌱


Glimpse of the feedback regarding my dance film



AAAAaa thank you so much for spending time to read this journal! ❤️

Have a wonderful day~




[In case you missed/ are interested in reading my first journal of the online residency, you could....]













18 views

Recent Posts

See All

Rattan Weaver - Combo1 - Anna

整体是被一个东西框着的 -框着 Action 看到很多圆的分割都是很even的很像我们跳舞的节奏和zizac的规律,很像我们砍竹的那个次数和频率很even -频率 Dynamic 很像另一个人在开始撞那些球去给那些球自由碰撞,球给我的感觉是可移动的,zizac感觉好像一开始就是固定了的 -移动 Space 下面有一片黑色的东西看起来很像那种古老的电视机接受不到信号时会有的信号 -接受不到信号 re

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page