top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Cye

I am Growing!🌱[1st week-Online Residency]

Hello everyone, I am Sarah (允恩). And this is my journal: My First week ( 3/7~ 9/7) of my very first online residency-The Journey. 👏


3/7/2021

Agenda: 7pm - 10pm, Dance Film with Lucy Dawson.

-I was pretty nervous at first as I didn't really knew what was dance film was. But after the workshop my worries was proven wrong, Miss Dawson is such a lovely person who is patient and passionate in what she does.


-Got me really excited about working with the camera, especially with the angles I can play with it.


-Learn so much from this workshop!(eg. Zoom lens, Exposure, White balance, How to incorporate your surroundings with your dance, etc.) My notebook was filled with notes which some I understand and some, not so much. Nevertheless, the workshop was very valuable indeed.


A glimpse of my notes (I swear my handwriting isn't normally that messy)



 

5/7/2021

Agenda: 7pm - 9pm, Welcome Dinner

-Was really excited to meet the crew of MOA, I get very enthusiastic but nervous while meeting new people. But I tried to get as comfortable and as "Sarah" as I can with all of the MOA crew


I don't remember why we were laughing (it may have something to do with the chopsticks and pizza? )

 

6/7/2021

Agenda: 3:45pm-4pm, Chimeric Dance - Paik Yin

4pm-6pm, Internal workshop 2 (Tau Sar Piah)


  • Chimeric Dance - Paik Yin

-Considering I just attended the last 15mins of the class, I was practically lost and in the dark about the situation. But that won't stop me from learning at least one new thing

[Keywords from that day]

-outside the frame

-can't concentrate

-look for the other lights

-be in the moment (main keyword alert!)


-We also did some "hand dancing"/choreography of your hands. It was something interesting and somewhat calming in a way.


  • Internal workshop 2 (Tau Sar Piah)

一天一小步

-I feel like they did such an excellent job in adding in the elements but still manage to remain the whole feel of the Tau Sar Piah making, truly amazing!

Abstract representation of my state of being that day


 

8/7/2021

Agenda: 3:40pm-4pm, Chimeric Dance- Paik Yin

4pm-6pm, Internal workshop 4 (Rattan Weaver)


  • Chimeric Dance - Paik Yin

-Have a better understanding on what are we doing, therefore, I'll enjoy the whole experience better and be more in the moment

[Keywords from that day]

-less stress

-let my body flow naturally with the camera

-comfortable

-progress (main keyword alert!)


  • Internal workshop 4 (Rattan Weaver)

-Sharing of my own family's traditional industry (carpenter)

-My first experience of teaching my own combo is so memorable, it's a test for me on how well do I know my combo to be able to explain and share it to someone.

-In my opinion, my explanation was a little draggy and I should learn to shorten the explanation but keeping in the main points

-Also a huge thank you to all my fellow teammates for bearing with me and joining the workshop, I truly appreciate and is really thankful for your love and support!

-Overall, it was an experience to remember


 

9/7/2021

Agenda: 8pm-10pm, Pitch Presentation

-After compiling and analyzing my keywords throughout the programme , I came out with one word I wanted to focus on: Growth

-I am a 14 year old girl growing.

-Was it nerve-wrecking, absolutely! But when I started talking I felt like all my worries fade away because I was truly me when I was expressing myself.




Thank you all for reading my lengthy [First week of online residency] journal. Have a great day :)

53 views

Recent Posts

See All

Rattan Weaver - Combo1 - Anna

整体是被一个东西框着的 -框着 Action 看到很多圆的分割都是很even的很像我们跳舞的节奏和zizac的规律,很像我们砍竹的那个次数和频率很even -频率 Dynamic 很像另一个人在开始撞那些球去给那些球自由碰撞,球给我的感觉是可移动的,zizac感觉好像一开始就是固定了的 -移动 Space 下面有一片黑色的东西看起来很像那种古老的电视机接受不到信号时会有的信号 -接受不到信号 re

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page