top of page
  • Writer's pictureTay Winnie

I am a coconut :D

Updated: Aug 13, 2021

Hello... Today (6/7/2021) is the 2nd day of the online residency. I've decided to journal my thoughts here because everytime my brain has alot to say but my words cannot exactly express.


What I learned today:

- I have a problem with translating what my brain is thinking into words....

- The place that I dance has too much 背光 so I probably need to change location (hmm...)

- I am constantly judging myself/ self-doubt (am i doing this correctly??)

- Although this residency has alot of ppl younger than me (hi valen, anna, sarah, shanyce, xiao xuen, alice, bee hui !), I still learn alot from them... they are all so friendly and outspoken ?? Especially Shanyce... not shy to speak and have own opinion...

- Its refreshing to see Ang's work and thought process outside of class (ASWARA) hahaha....

- Chi Ying 今天打 AZ.


Tomorrow I am going to teach the internal workshop for my part of the project... and I am revisiting my notes because i am veli ganjiong because I know my brain and mouth will lose connection. But I am relieved and happy that everyone in the residency is so friendly and gives constructive critism.


I will end the post by sharing my Combination 4 which I named it as "I am a Coconut".


Context : The origin of this combination is actually not sourced from the artisan's hand movements. It started because I felt that my 3 combinations before this was very "mechanical" as I was just embodying the machine and tools that the artisan used. Therefore, laoshi suggested that I make this extra combination which "less mechanical" which is why I am a coconut.


My Imagination:

The Process:

The Outcome (still in progress):


#CoconutFact : More people die from falling coconuts than shark attacks !


Now that my coconut has fallen, let's start carving ! :DDDDD


29 views

Recent Posts

See All

After n days...

Hi everyone, my name is Yieng Zhu... yes Yieng Zhu, again is Y-I-E-N-G Z-H-U There are quite a few people who wrote and pronounce my name wrongly TT In case you dont knw the pinyin... Yùn zhù 韵祝 I a

Drowning in the 2 Sea

It's a very interesting sharing session, however, i'm a bit hungry to focus on. What he said about control and inspiration also make me think a lot. As he say when you control, you have less inspirati

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page